Heritage Open Days has finished but don't worry! - Have a look at our 2020 online talks & virtual tours archive >

Portraits of Life - Exhibition

10am - 4pm: The Forum

Norwich Free Exhibition
  • Disabled toilets
  • Toilets
  • Wheelchair access
  • Disabled parking
  • Parking
  • Refreshments

Millennium Plain, Norwich, NR2 1TF

Dates/times

Fri 11 Sep
  • 10am - 4pm
Sat 12 Sep
  • 10am - 4pm
Sun 13 Sep
  • 10am - 4pm
Mon 14 Sep
  • 10am - 4pm
Tue 15 Sep
  • 10am - 4pm
Wed 16 Sep
  • 10am - 4pm
Thu 17 Sep
  • 10am - 4pm
Fri 18 Sep
  • 10am - 4pm
Sat 19 Sep
  • 10am - 4pm
Sun 20 Sep
  • 10am - 4pm

Visit this photographic exhibition of Norwich city streets in the 1950s and 1960s by Jack Roberts.

After WWII and the subsequent redevelopment in the early 1970s, the streets of Norwich looked very different. Gone were the rows and rows of terraced houses and narrow shopping streets. Professional photographer, Jack Roberts, who died in 2005, captured some of those communities.

With thanks to Norwich Evening News and Eastern Daily Press journalist Derek James and photographer Bill Smith, an exhibition of Jack's worked premiered at HODs 2019 and we have the opportunity to exhibit Jack's work again.

Look out for additional online events where you can hear stories from those who once lived and worked in these streets and discover more about Jack Roberts via an In conversation talk with Derek James an Bill Smith.  

Covid-19 Considerations: This event will run in line with local & national government guidelines at the time of the festival. Face coverings must be worn inside The Forum; hand washing and sanitising stations are in place. The Forum is currently running with a reduced capacity of visitors in the building so at busier times there may be a short wait to enter the exhibition. 

Organiser details: The Forum Trust